Staunton Montessori School  is governed by a volunteer Board of Trustees, who offer expertise and vision to ensure the long-term stability and mission of the school. The Board is responsible for supporting the School and Montessori philosophy, ensuring the financial solvency of the school, approving the annual budget, and hiring the Head of School.

The Board comprises three to nine unpaid individuals, generally current and former SMS parents.

Current Board Members

  • Deena Warner, President
  • Kelly Thompson, Secretary
  • Amber Benson, Treasurer
  • Debra Dance Schmid, Head of School
  • Eric Peifer
  • Michael Evans
  • Beth Bohannon
  • Lindsay Burris
  • Tim Morton

SMS is a non-profit 501(c)(3) corporation funded by tuition, fees, annual giving, donations, and grants.

  • Download an SMS Application

© 2020 Staunton Montessori School. All rights reserved. Design by Studio JWAL LLC.